Accra Noir

Akashic Books continues its award-winning series of original noir anthologies, launched in 2004 with Brooklyn Noir. Each book comprises all new stories, each one set in a distinct neighborhood or location within the respective city. Brand-new stories by: Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond, Kwame Dawes, Adjoa Twum, Kofi Blankson Ocansey, Billie McTernan, Ernest Kwame Nkrumah Addo, Patrick Smith, Anne Sackey, Gbontwi Anyetei, Nana-Ama Danquah, Ayesha Harruna Attah, Eibhlín Ní Chléirigh, and Anna Bossman. From the introduction by Nana-Ama Danquah: Accra is the perfect setting for noir fiction. The telling of such tales—ones involving or suggesting death, with a protagonist who is flawed or devious, driven by either a self-serving motive or one of the seven deadly sins—is woven into the fabric of the city’s everyday life . . . Accra is more than just a capital city. It is a microcosm of Ghana. It is a virtual map of the nation’s soul, a complex geographical display of its indigenous presence, the colonial imposition, declarations of freedom, followed by coups d’état, decades of dictatorship, and then, finally, a steady march forward into a promising future . . . Much like Accra, these stories are not always what they seem. The contributors who penned them know too well how to spin a story into a web . . . It is an honor and a pleasure to share them and all they reveal about Accra, a city of allegories, one of the most dynamic and diverse places in the world.


Table of Contents


Part I: One Day for Master
“Chop Money” by Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond (Mallam Atta Market)
“Shape-Shifters” by Adjoa Twum (Pig Farm)
“Moon Over Aburi” by Kwame Dawes (Aburi)
“Fantasia in Fans and Flat Screens” by Kofi Blankson Ocansey (Jamestown)

Part II: Heaven Gate, No Bribe
“The Labadi Sunshine Bar” by Billie McTernan (Labadi)
“The Driver” by Ernest Kwame Nkrumah Addo (Weija)
“The Situation” by Patrick Smith (Labone)

Part III: All Die Be Die
“Intentional Consequences” by Anne Sackey (Kanda)
“Tabilo Wu?f?” by Gbontwi Anyetei (Airport Hills)
“When a Man Loves a Woman” by Nana-Ama Danquah (Cantonments)

Part IV: Sea Never Dry
“Kweku’s House” by Ayesha Harruna Attah (Tesano)
“The Boy Who Wasn’t There” by Eibhlín Ní Chléirigh (East Legon)
“Instant Justice” by Anna Bossman (High Street)

Edited by Nana-Ama Danquah
Akashik Books
ISBN/EAN: 9781617758898
19,95 € (inkl. MwSt.)