26.-28. APRIL 2018
African Book Festival Berlin
im Babylon

Präsentiert von InterKontinental findet im April 2018 in Berlin zum ersten Mal ein Festival von und für afrikanische Autor*innen statt. Kuratiert von der deutsch-nigerianischen Autorin Olumide Popoola greift das Festival Themen der Transnationalität und Transkulturalität auf und widmet sich der Migration im Sinne des „In-Bewegung-Seins“.

Thematisiert wird an drei Tagen mit Hilfe der Fiktion, Poesie, in Vorträgen und auf Podiumsdiskussionen afrikanische Lebensrealität. Wie lebt und schreibt es sich, nach einem erzwungenen oder freiwilligen Schritt nach Europa/den USA? Wie verarbeiten afrikanische Schriftsteller*innen konstante identitäre und räumliche Bewegung? Gibt es eine Verpflichtung gegenüber der Tradition, einer „afrikanischen Identität“ etwa?

Writing in Migration bringt Autor*innen über die Kontinente hinweg nach Berlin, deren Bücher literarische Visionen sind und international Trends setzen. Gemeinsam mit Kuratorin Olumide Popoola fordern sie ihr Publikum auf: Read Outside The Box.

DIE KURATORIN

Die in London lebende nigerianisch-deutsche Olumide Popoola ist Schriftstellerin, Speakerin und Performerin. Sie veröffentlichte zahlreiche Essays, Poesie, die Novelle „This is not about sadness“ (Unrast, 2010), das Theaterstück „Also by Mail“ (Edition Assemblage, 2013), die Kurzgeschichtensammlung „Breach“, die sie mit Annie Holmes (Peirene Presse, 2016) ko-editierte sowie Aufnahmen in Zusammenarbeit mit Musiker*innen. Olumide Popoola hat einen PhD in Creative Writing und lehrt an diversen Universitäten referiert. Ihr Roman „When We Speak of Nothing“ ist im Juli 2017 bei Cassava Republic erschienen.

 

 

 

DIE FESTIVALLEITUNG

Karla Kutzner & Stefanie Hirsbrunner

Kontakt

GEFÖRDERT  VON

Gefördert durch die

 

Auch Sie können Förderer sein:      Support Crowdfunding

PARTNER

 

   

 

asdasdasd

April 26th to 28th 2018
African Book Festival Berlin
at Babylon

In April 2018, InterKontinental presents for the first time a literary festival with and by African writers in Berlin. Curated by the German-Nigerian author Olumide Popoola the festival looks at transnationalism and migration in a more literary sense of “keeping in motion”.

For three days and with the help of fiction, poetry, lectures and panel discussions African reality of life will be focused on. How do writers from Africa or the diaspora negotiate the changes that come with displacement, forced or chosen? How do writers approach the constant flux of place, and identity? Are they still bound by tradition or being truthful to notions of an “African Identity”?

Writing in Migration brings authors from three continents to Berlin whose books are literary visions and trendsetters all over the world. Together with curator Olumide Popoola they encourage their audience: Read Outside The Box.

THE CURATOR

London-based Nigerian-German Olumide Popoola is a writer, speaker and performer. Her publications include essays, poetry, the novella this is not about sadness (Unrast, 2010), the play text Also by Mail (edition assemblage, 2013), the short collection breach, which she co-authored with Annie Holmes (Peirene Press, 2016), as well as recordings in collaboration with musicians. Olumide has a PhD in Creative Writing and has lectured in creative writing at various universities. Her novel When We Speak of Nothing was published by Cassava Republic Press in July 2017.

 

 

FESTIVAL DIRECTORS

Karla Kutzner & Stefanie Hirsbrunner

contact

SPONSORS

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation  

 

You can be a sponsor too:      Support Crowdfunding

 

PARTNER