25 April 2018 | 19.30 | Literaturhaus Berlin
The South Africa author has published four novels and a collection of short stories, that appeared in various international publications. She is currently completing a trio of no­vels about the entanglement of human and non-human lives in city spaces. The first two books in the trilogy, Nineveh and Green Lion, have been published internationally and translated into several languages. The third novel, Stone Plant, is due in 2018. Her apocalyptic story ‘Poison’ was awarded the 2008 Caine Prize for African Writing.








    • Green Lion
      Gallic Books, 2017
    • Nineveh
      Gallic Books, 2016
    • The Rock Alphabet
      Kwela Books, 2007
    • Nice Times!: A Book of South African Pleasures and Delights
      Double Storey, 2006
    • Shark’s Egg: A Novel
      Kwela Books, 2001
13 June 2018 | 19.30 | Literaturhaus Berlin


Nadifa Mohamed was born in Hargeisa in 1981. Her first novel, Black Mamba Boy, won the Betty Trask Prize, was long-listed for the Orange Prize, and was short-listed for the Guardian First Book Award, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, the Dylan Thomas Prize, and the PEN Open Book Award. In 2013 she was selected as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists. Her second novel, The Orchard of Lost Souls, was published in 2013 and won a Somerset Maugham Prize and the Prix Albert Bernard, and was long-listed for The Dylan Thomas Prize and short-listed for the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award.










    • The Orchard of Lost Souls
      Simon & Schuster, 2013
    • Black Mamba Boy
      Farar, Strauss, Giroux, 2010



26 September 2018 | 19.30 | Literaturhaus Berlin
Pius Adesanmi, poet, sartirist, creative non-fiction author, essayist, and academic, was born in Nigeria. He is the internationally-acclaimed winner of the inaugural Penguin Prize for African Writing (2010) with his book of creative non-fiction, You’re not a Country, Africa. His first book of poetry, The Wayfarer & Other Poems, won the Poetry Prize of the Association of Nigerian Authors in 2000. His latest book, Naija No Dey Carry Last, a collection of sartirical essays on Nigerian culture, history, and politics, was listed made the Channels TV‘s list of the best Nigerian books of 2015. In 2017, he won the Board of Director‘s leadership Award of the Canada Bureau for International Education. Adesanmi is a celebrated columnist in Nigeria and is considered one of the most influential Nigerian public intellectuals of his generation.










  • Naija No Dey Carry Last
    Parrésia Publishers, 2015
  • You’re Not a Country, Africa
    Penguin Books, 2011
  • The Wayfarer and Other Poems
    Oracle Books, Lagos, 2001