Elnathan’s #BOAT | Der Autor | Rückblick 2017 | Rückblick 2018

 

Afrikanische Literatur in Berlin

Viermal pro Jahr führt der bekannte nigerianische Satiriker, Caine Prize Finalist und Autor von „Born on a Tuesday“ (#BOAT) Elnathan John im Literaturhaus Berlin durch einen Abend der Literatur beider Kontinente. Im Gespräch mit einem weiteren Autor/einer weiteren Autorin mit ganz unterschiedlichen Lebensgeschichten und Interessen, erläutert er Fragen aktueller Politik und Gesellschaft. Ob Belletristik, Lyrik, Sachbuch – wir präsentieren eine verblüffend andere Perspektive auf afrikanische Literatur.

 PROGRAMM

26. September 2018 | 19.30 | Literaturhaus Berlin
mit PIUS ADESANMI

Eintritt: € 7,- (red. € 5,-)

TICKETS

 

Dieses Mal zu Gast ist der nigerianische Dichter, Satiriker, Essayist, Sachbuchautor und Wissenschaftler Pius Adesanmi. Er ist Englischprofessor und leitet das Institut für Afrikawissenschaften der Carleton University in Ottawa, Kanada. Adesanmi studierte Französisch in Ilorin und Iabadan und promovierte an der University of British Columbia. Seither konzentriert sich seine wissenschaftliche Arbeit auf anglo- und frankophone afrikanische und schwarze diasporische Literaturen, Politik und Kultur. Sein Sachbuch „You’re not a Country, Africa“ (Penguin, 2011) wurde 2010 mit dem Penguin Prize for African Writing ausgezeichnet und wurde international gefeiert. Sein Gedichtband „The Wayfarer & Other Poems“ (Oracle Books, 2001) gewann den Poesiepreis der Nigerianischen Schriftstellervereinigung im Jahre 2000. Zuletzt veröffentlichte Adesanmi mit „Naija No Dey Carry Last“ (Parrésia Publishers, 2015) einen satirischen Essayband über nigerianische Geschichte, Kultur und Politik. Adesanmi ist ein gefeierter Kolumnist in Nigeria, kommentiert aktuelles politisches Geschehen und gilt als einer der einflussreichsten Intellektuellen seiner Generation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BIBLIOGRAFIE

    • Naija No Dey Carry Last
      Parrésia Publishers, 2015
    • You’re Not a Country, Africa
      Penguin Books, 2011
    • The Wayfarer and Other Poems
      Oracle Books, Lagos, 2001

Elnathan’s #BOAT geht weiter am..

14. November 2018 | 19.30 | Literaturhaus Berlin
mit HAWA GOLAKAI

Eintritt: € 7,- (red. € 5,-)

 

Hawa Jande Golakai wurde 1979 geboren und stammt aus Liberia. Aufgrund von politischer und ökonomischer Instabilität in ihrer Heimat zog sie mit ihrer Familie über Togo und Ghana nach Zimbabwe bevor sie zum 2003 Studieren nach Cape Town zog. Sie ist studierte Immunologin und arbeitete an lokalen medizinischen Forschungszentren. Ihr Schreiben speist sich aus ihren Erfahrungen als Wisschenschaftlerin, Geflüchtete und moderne Nomadin, die in ihr eine Leidenschaft für Kimis und Thriller befeuern. Ihr Debütroman The Lazarus Effect (Kwela, 2011 / Cassava 2016) war nominiert für den nigerianischen Wole Soyinka Preis sowie Literaturpreis der Sunday Times und Debütpreis der University of Johannesburg in Südafrika. Ihr zweiter Roman The Score (Kwela 2015 / Cassava 2018) ist eine Fortsetzung ihres Erstlingswerkes. In beiden Romanen klärt die Enthüllungsjournalistin Vee Johnson mit ihrer Assistentin Chloe mit Witz, Action und überraschenden Wendungen Verbrechen auf.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BIBLIOGRAFIE

  • The Score
    Cassava, 2018
  • The Lazarus Effect
    Kwela, 2011

Partner

Elnathan’s #BOAT | The Autor | Review 2017  | Review 2018

 

Literature from Africa in Berlin

Elnathan’s #BOAT has moved to the Literaturhaus Berlin. Here, every quarter widely praised satirist, author of Born on a Tuesday and Caine Prize finalist Elnathan John leads through an evening of literature. In conversation with his guests from varied literary backgrounds and interests, he explores political and social questions of our times. Fiction, prose, poetry – join us for an astounding perspective on African literature.

 PROGRAM

26 September 2018 | 19.30 | Literaturhaus Berlin
with PIUS ADESANMI

Admission: € 7,- (red. € 5,-)

TICKETS

 

Pius Adesanmi, poet, sartirist, creative non-fiction author, essayist, and academic, was born in Nigeria. He is the internationally-acclaimed winner of the inaugural Penguin Prize for African Writing (2010) with his book of creative non-fiction, You’re not a Country, Africa. His first book of poetry, The Wayfarer & Other Poems, won the Poetry Prize of the Association of Nigerian Authors in 2000. His latest book, Naija No Dey Carry Last, a collection of sartirical essays on Nigerian culture, history, and politics, was listed made the Channels TV‘s list of the best Nigerian books of 2015. In 2017, he won the Board of Director‘s leadership Award of the Canada Bureau for International Education. Adesanmi is a celebrated columnist in Nigeria and is considered one of the most influential Nigerian public intellectuals of his generation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

      • Naija No Dey Carry Last
        Parrésia Publishers, 2015
      • You’re Not a Country, Africa
        Penguin Books, 2011
      • The Wayfarer and Other Poems
        Oracle Books, Lagos, 2001

Elnathan’s #BOAT continues on…

14 November 2018 | 19.30 | Literaturhaus Berlin
with HAWA GOLAKAI

Admission: € 7,- (red. € 5,-)

TICKETS

 

Hawa Jande Golakai is from Liberia and was born in 1979. As a result of political and economic unrest she moved around a great deal with her family and lived in many African countries, including Togo, Ghana and Zimbabwe, before moving to Cape Town as a student in 2003. Hawa trained and worked as a medical researcher in immunology at local academic research institutions. She writes from her experiences as a refugee, foreigner, scientist and contemporary African nomad, a life which has helped foster an intense passion for crime and thriller fiction. The Lazarus Effect (Kwela, 2011 / Cassava 2016) is her first novel and was long-listed for the Wole Soyinka Prize for African writers and shortlisted for both the Sunday Times Literary Prize for Fiction and the University of Johannesburg Debut Prize for Creative Writing. Her second Novel The Score (Kwela 2015 / Cassava 2018) is a sequel to her debut thriller. Both novels feature investigative journalist Vee Johnson and her assistant Chloe solving mysteries full of action, humour and surprising twists and turns.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

  • The Score
    Cassava, 2018
  • The Lazarus Effect
    Kwela, 2011

 

Partners